Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Empowering the 4th Chakra

In a time when our shared world is experiencing dark times, I look to the power and energy of the 4th Chakra, the Chakra of the Heart. It is called ANAHATA (AN-nuh-HAH-tuh), and the literal Sanskrit translation is 'unhurt, unstruck, unbeaten.' 
When balanced, this Chakra shows emotions of joy, gratitude, conscience, compassion, and trust. It is the ruler of the way we manifest love. When it is out of balance, it can show emotions such as over-loving to the point of unhealthiness, jealousy, abandonment, anger, bitterness, and fear of loneliness. This Chakra is extremely powerful as it is the 'Center of the Seven' - three above and three below. Matter and spirit are united in this location, which beholds profound potential. 
Practicing yoga helps to balance and open the energy of the Seven Chakras, the subtle anatomy system of our bodily energy. Heart-opening asanas like Ustrasana (camel pose) and Bhujangasana (cobra pose) are equally as important to nurturing the Heart Chakra as those that protect and harness the immense energy of the heart, like Garudasana (eagle pose) and Marjaryasana (cat pose). Just as yoga creates space and alignment in the physical body, it opens our hearts and minds to spiritual growth, and provides a feeling of peace, contentment, and harmony. The yogic work we do both on and off the mat spills over to our relationships with others. 
With the guidance of our strong, balanced, compassionate hearts, let us share our light as powerful leaders with the ability to give and receive love, and show compassion to ourselves and others. As a result, we will benefit all of humanity. 

Image result for heart chakra

No comments:

Post a Comment

RYST Holiday Gift Guide

It's that time of year again! Wondering what gifts to buy for your favorite yogis? Have no fear! Real Yoga Studio Tshirts is here - and ...